A Review of Craftseller Magazine

Craftseller magazine frontcover

Front cover of October’s Craftseller magazine

I was sent a copy of Craftseller magazine when Cloth magazine, which I had a subscription to, stopped publishing. I didn’t have high hopes to be honest and it’s taken me a couple of months to actually get round to reading it.

For a start the twee squirrels on the frontcover put me off. I don’t know about you, but I don’t suddenly get to October and think, I must get some little stuffed squirrels.

But now I’ve actually had a proper look at the magazine, I think it’s got some interesting makes to try and some useful marketing tips if you were going to try to sell them.

Woman wearing collar

Pearly Peter Pan collar

For example, I can actually imagine making this pearly Peter Pan collar and reckon a lot of women would like it. Craftseller advises what it would cost to make each product and what you can sell it for, to make a profit. The Peter Pan collar they say you can make for £3.50 and sell for £20. I can believe this, but I’m not convinced that you can sell those squirrels for £20 a go!

They appear to count food as a craft, and the October issue had recipes for chutney and cupcakes. I particularly like the look of the blackberry and elderflower cheesecake. I love elderflower coridal (as my friend Victoria said to me, ‘you’d make a very good 60 year old’).

Marks & Spencer currently has a paper stag head which you can use as a Christmas wall decoration and there are instructions here to make one which looks similar. I much prefer the idea of making one than buying one. Interestingly, the M&S one is on sale for £19.50 and is included in their Christmas 3 for 2 offer, whilst Craftseller advises that you can sell the one in the magazine for £30.

Pebbles

Pebble ladybirds – would you buy these?

These ladybirds made out of pebbles are just awful though. Much worse than even Cath Kitson could come up with. And they’ve titled it ‘Mummy makes’ which is just vomit-inducing. Craftseller says that you can make the set for £4 and speculates that you can sell them for £15. The idea of turning the smallest pebbles into fridge magnets is a useful one, otherwise surely they just clutter up your home?

Have you made anything from Craftseller magazine, or do you subscribe to it? Please let me know by commenting below.

Leave a comment